### Illinois State University

## ISU ReD: Research and eData

**Academic Senate Minutes** 

**Academic Senate** 

Winter 11-20-1957

# University Council Meeting, November 20, 1957

Academic Senate Illinois State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes



Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Senate, Academic, "University Council Meeting, November 20, 1957" (1957). Academic Senate Minutes. 1162.

https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes/1162

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Academic Senate at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

# Regular Meeting of the University Council (Not approved by the Council)

November 20, 1957

The regular meeting of the University Council was called to order at 7:15 by the Chairman, Mr. Sorensen.

Members present Robert Bone Chris De Young Marjorie Ellis Bernice Frey Victor Gimmestad Arthur Larsen Harry Lovelass Willard McCarthy Elizabeth Russell Clarence Sorensen Ruth Stroud Bjarne Ullsvik Arthur Watterson Leo Yedor Ruth Zimmerman

Non-Members present Frances Alexander Robert Brome Helen Chiles Regina Connell DeVerne Dalluge Alice Eikenberry Grace Hiler Verna Hoyman Milford Jochums Cecilia Lauby Eldon Lichty Christine P'Simer Howard Rye Eunice Speer Sadie Udstuen Dale Vetter Esther Vinson Lela Winegarner

The minutes of the previous regular meeting (October 16) were approved after a correction. Paragraph three, sentence six, was changed to read that Mr. Ullsvik and Mr. Ensign have been appointed by President Bone to take care of the problems related to retirement.

The first item on the agenda was the election of an APT Committee member to replace Howard Hancock whose term has expired. The Executive Committee presented these nominees: Bernice Frey, C. M. Hammerlund, and Margaret Westhoff. Mr. Gimmestad was nominated from the floor and was elected.

The nominating committee (Miss Ellis, Mr. Lovelass, and Mr. De Young) nominated Miss Webb and Miss Wise for a vacancy on the Student Union Board. Miss Wise was elected.

Mr. Larsen presented the University Calendar for the year 1959-1960 and moved its adoption. The motion was seconded by Mr. Yedor and was passed.

Mr. Gimmestad made a preliminary report concerning practices within the various departments for summer school employment and rotation. In the discussion which followed it was suggested that certain principles should be applied to summer school employment in order to have the best program for the students. It was also suggested that we should be working toward eleven months employment for staff members rather than rotation systems. It was the opinion of President Bone that such a plan may eventually be possible, though probably not in the immediate future.

The next item on the agenda was a discussion of the proposed Junior High School Organization. Miss Stroud, Chairman of a committee appointed by the Council in 1956 for the study of this problem, summarized the findings of this committee. Copies of the summary of the report were distributed. After some discussion, President Bone recommended that the committee of nine (long range planning) review this problem and clarify this issue at an early date.

A communication from the Faculty Election Committee (Miss Zimmerman, Mr. Gimmestad) gave the results of the election ballot for the Faculty Salary Schedule Committee. The following persons were chosen to represent their ranks on this committee: Mr. Bass (instructor), Mr. Paloumpis (assistant professor), and Mr. Helgeson (associate professor.)

A letter from Mr. Gooding asked that we consider a problem about classification of rank of members of the Council. Excerpts from his letter will explain the problem.

"As I understand it, there is, at present, a regulation stating that no more than five persons of the same academic rank may hold membership on the Council at any one time. In the past, if the Council member is promoted in rank during his term of office, at the next election he is classified in the rank to which he is promoted not the rank held at the time of his election. I believe this is an injustice to those in the rank to which he was promoted."

Mr. Ullsvik moved that a committee be appointed to study and report on this problem at the next meeting. The motion was seconded by Mr. Yedor and was passed.

A letter from Mr. Carlock suggested a slight alteration in the proposed wording of by-laws of the University Council for Article 4, Section 2. The revised statement would change the words second consecutive year to read second or subsequent consecutive years.

The latest reivision of the general procedures for the University APT Committee were presented. Miss Frey moved the approval of these procedures. The motion was seconded by Miss Ellis and was passed. It was agreed that these procedures would be attached to the minutes of this meeting for distribution to the faculty.

There was some discussion of the problem of departmental APT Committees informing individuals concerning the departmental recommendations. Members of the APT Committee approved for this year the policy of departmental committees informing faculty members of their recommendations, if they so desired. Miss Zimmerman moved that the Council concur with this recommendation. The motion was seconded by Mr. Yedor and was passed.

The Council then met in Executive Session. President Bone discussed these problems: admission policies, building needs, size of school, and administrative structure.

The meeting adjourned at 11:45.

Clarence Sorensen, Chairman Elizabeth Russell, Secretary