Illinois State University

ISU ReD: Research and eData

Academic Senate Minutes

Academic Senate

Winter 1-8-1958

University Council Meeting, January 08, 1958

Academic Senate Illinois State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes



Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

Recommended Citation

Senate, Academic, "University Council Meeting, January 08, 1958" (1958). Academic Senate Minutes.

https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes/1160

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Academic Senate at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

Dr. Bene

Special Meeting of the University Council (Minutes not approved by the Council)

January 8, 1958

The meeting of the University Council was called to order at 7:15 by the chairman, Mr. Sorensen.

Members Present
Robert Bone
Chris De Young
Margery Ellis
Victor Gimmestad
Arthur Larsen
Harry Lovelass
Willard McCarthy
Clarence Sorensen
Ruth Stroud
Bjarne Ullsvik
Arthur Watterson
Ruth Zimmerman

Members Absent
Bernice Frey
Elizabeth Russell
Leo Yedor

Non-Members Present Regina Connell Harlan Peithman

Miss Connell, Chairman of the Committee on Committees, presented a detailed report of the reorganized committee structure. Considerable discussion followed, and minor changes were made. Mr. De Young moved (Mr. Watterson seconded) that the report be adopted and that the Council express its appreciation to the Committee on Committees. The motion passed.

President Bone moved (Mr. Lovelass seconded) that Miss Connell be requested to prepare a full explanation of the nature and functions of the committees for distribution to the faculty. The motion passed.

Mr. Sorensen read the names of six persons recommended by the executive committee for two positions as coordinators of committees. These were: Claude Dillinger, Alice Eikenberry, Elinor Flagg, Milford Jochums, Helen Marshall, and Mary Serra. Mr. Watterson moved (Miss Stroud seconded) that these names be submitted to President Bone, who will make the two appointments. The motion carried.

Mr. Larsen moved (Mr. McCarthy seconded) that the elections committee be authorized to omit from the nominating ballot for election to the University Council the names of persons requesting such omission. The motion passed.

The Council agreed that this meeting would take the place of the regular January meeting.

The meeting adjourned.

Clarence Sorensen, Chairman

Margery Ellis, Secretary pro tem.