Illinois State University

# ISU ReD: Research and eData

Academic Senate Minutes

Academic Senate

Spring 5-29-1959

# University Council Meeting, May 29, 1959

Academic Senate Illinois State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes

Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

## **Recommended Citation**

Senate, Academic, "University Council Meeting, May 29, 1959" (1959). *Academic Senate Minutes*. 1148. https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes/1148

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Academic Senate at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

## MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL (not approved by the Council)

May 29, 1959

Members Present

Robert Bone DeVerne Dalluge Bernice Frey Victor Gimmestad Eric Johnson Benjamin Keeley Arthur Larsen Willard McCarthy Robert Moore Andreas Paloumpis Elizabeth Russell Eunice Speer Leo Yedor Members Absent

Non-Members Present

No. 3

Margery Ellis Howard Hancock Howard Ivens

Approval of Minutes

Mr. McCarthy's name was listed incorrectly as "Mr. McIntyre," and the date of the meeting was listed as April 20 instead of April 15. Mr. Keeley moved that the minutes as corrected be approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. McCarthy and was passed.

## Parking Board Report

Mr. Johnson reported that the following resolutions were passed by the Parking Board at a meeting held on May 19, 1959:

- That the University inaugurate a system of student car registration beginning with the first semester of the 1959-1960 academic year, in which all automobiles driven by students for any portion whatsoever of the school year be registered and that appropriate penalty be attached to a failure to register an automobile with University authorities.
- 2. That a fee not to exceed fifty (50) cents be levied against students who register automobiles.
- 3. That all of the existing and necessary regulations relating to parking for both faculty-staff and for students be placed together into one pamphlet and distributed to all faculty-staff and to all students at the beginning of the coming academic year.

Mr. Keeley moved that the resolutions of the Parking Board be accepted. The motion was seconded by Mr. Yedor and was passed.

## Faculty Salary Schedule Committee

Mr. Lewis Toll was re-elected to the Faculty Salary Schedule Committee, representing the Professor rank.

## Illinois Education Association

Miss Frey, Chairman of the Elections Committee, reported on the results of the IEA election. The following faculty members were elected to two-year terms as delegates to the Central Division of the IEA:

Frances Alexander Mary Arnold (Chairman) G. Bradford Barber

The following faculty members were elected as one-year alternates: Douglas Bey Cecilia Lauby Francis Brown Harry Lovelass Frances Damm Helen Nance Claude Dillinger Vernon Replogle Alice Eikenberry Elizabeth Russell Eric Johnson

## APT Committee Election

The Executive Committee presented the following nominees for a four-year term: Elinor Dilks Mary Serra Ruth Yates

Mr. Milford Jochums was nominated from the floor. Miss Dilks was elected on the third ballot.

## Budget Committee Election

The Executive Committee presented the following nominees for four-year terms with two persons to be elected:

Douglas Bey Dorothy Fensholt Verna Hoyman Margaret Jones Loren Mentzer Ethel Stein

Miss Fensholt was elected on the first ballot and Miss Hoyman was elected on the fifth ballot.

#### Building Committee Election

The Executive Committee presented the following nominees for a three-year term: Ruth Bird Helen Chiles Frances Damm

Miss Damm was elected on the first ballot.

#### Long Range Planning Committee Election

The Executive Committee presented the following nominees for a three-year term: Eugene Hill Willard McCarthy Bernard Ryder

Mr. McCarthy was elected on the first ballot.

-2-

### Student Union Board Election

The Executive Committee presented the following nominees for a three-year term: Ellen Kelly Margery Lewis Inez Mauck

Miss Kelly was elected on the second ballot.

## Cheerleaders

A report was read from Mr. Glasener, Chairman, Athletic Board, notifying the University Council that the Athletic Board had moved "that the cheerleaders be required to meet the same academic standards of eligibility as required for athletes." Mr. Larsen moved that the University Council accept and endorse the report. The motion was seconded by Mr. Keeley and was passed.

#### APT Committee

Mr. Keeley moved that the term for a member of the University APT Committee be continued until the annual report is accepted or until not later than September 1, when the new committee takes over. The motion was seconded by Mr. Johnson and was passed.

## Faculty Lounge Committee

With the disbanding of the faculty-elected lounge committee, Miss Russell moved that the appointments to the new lounge committee come under the jurisdiction of the Committee on Committees. The motion was seconded by Mr. Moore and was passed.

#### Conferences

Mr. Keeley presented a progress report dealing with faculty members' responsibilities with conferences on our campus. A complete report will be given at a later date.

## University Budget

President Bone briefly reported on the cuts that had been made in the University Budget and the actions taken to replace these monies. Miss Speer moved that the Secretary be instructed to write letters of appreciation to Dr. Browne, Mr. Davis and Mr. Stipes for their work in getting the Governor to restore some of the amount cut from our budget. The motion was seconded by Miss Russell and was passed.

The Council then met in Executive Session at 9:10 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:25 p.m.

Victor Gimmestad, Chairman Andreas Paloumpis, Secretary Action on the Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Lounges

- 1 Sec. 67

I. Recommendations on Facilities

- 1. Entrance to women's rest room in Cook Hall. This problem is still being studied.
- 2. Smoking in lounges on second floor of Schroeder Hall. Smoking will be permitted in the lounge at the south end of the second floor of Schroeder Hall, but NOT in the faculty women's lounge at the north end of the same floor.
- 3. Furnishings for lounges in Schroeder Hall. New furnishings are being provided.
- 4. Expanded coffee shop facilities. The facilities will be expanded as soon as room is available. 2 8 474 a transfer in a
- 5. Partition and furnishings in the lounge in North Hall. After members of the Art Department move out of North Hall, improvements in the rest room and lounge facilities will be made.

the third way we have

a the share to get the state

- 6. Faculty Lounge in U. High School. This project is on the program for action when funds become available.
- 7. Wash-room facilities for men in Cook Hall. Improvements can be made after some of the more pressing problems given in the other recommendations are taken care of.
- 8. First-aid kit in each building. A final report will be made after a number of suggestions have been discussed with Dr. Hardy.
  - II. Recommendations Relative to Coffee Shop Management
- 1. Final recommendations on purchasing of food and coffee by someone in the Business Office, the disposal of profits and help for Mrs. Dunn will be made when the new lounge committee has had time to act.

III. Recommendations Relative to Lounges and Use of Kitchen

1. The seven recommendations on a lounge committee, and on policies concerning the lounges were approved in principle, but the final action on the recommendations will be made after the new lounge committee has had time to act.