### Illinois State University

## ISU ReD: Research and eData

**Academic Senate Minutes** 

**Academic Senate** 

Winter 11-18-1959

# University Council Meeting, November 18, 1959

Academic Senate Illinois State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes



Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Senate, Academic, "University Council Meeting, November 18, 1959" (1959). Academic Senate Minutes. 1143.

https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes/1143

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Academic Senate at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

# Minutes of the University Council (Not Approved by the Council)

No. 7

November 18, 1959

Members Present Members Absent
Robert Bone Willard McCarthy

Non-Members Present Richard Hulet Anna Keaton William Legge Ernie Olson V. L. Replogle

Robert Bone
DeVerne Dalluge
Margery Ellis
Bernice Frey
Victor Gimmestad
Howard Hancock
Eric Johnson
Ben Keeley
Arthur Larsen
Robert Moore
Andreas Paloumpis
Elizabeth Russell
Eunice Speer
Leo Yedor

Approval of Minutes

Dean Larsen moved that the minutes of the previous meeting be approved with the following change: the word "cake" on page 2, line 17 be changed to "coke". The motion was seconded by Miss Speer and was passed.

University Calendar

Dean Larsen commented that a problem had arisen with the 1961-62 University Calendar. The problem exists in arranging the Christmas vacation. Dean Larsen suggested that classes be dismissed on Wednesday, December 20 and resume on Thursday, January 4th. It was the consensus of the group that this plan was satisfactory. The calendar will be brought in for final approval at the December meeting.

Salary Schedule Committee

Since Mr. Buford Bass has been promoted, a person from the Instructor's rank has to be elected as a replacement on the Faculty Salary Schedule Committee. The Executive Committee of the University Council nominated the following: James Brubeck, Lewis Legg and Charlotte Upton. Grace Shea and William White were nominated from the floor. Mr. Brubeck was elected on the second ballot. The term will extend till the next regular election.

Metcalf Patrol

Mr. Replogle, Mr. Legge and Mr. Olson discussed some of the problems associated with the Metcalf Patrol and traffic problems. It was suggested that Mr. Johnson investigate the possibilities of a 15 MPH zone on University Street. It was also suggested that a form be drafted and sent to the parents of patrol boys securing their permission for the boys and girls to serve on the patrol.

Student Problems

Deans Hulet and Keaton discussed the problems encountered by our students. The problems were categorized under the following headings: finance, housing, academic, activities, health, mental health, behavior, self-government and life orientation.

Curriculum Committee

The Chairman read a letter from Miss Gwen Smith, Chairman of the Curriculum Committee requesting clarification regarding major and minor decisions. Minor decisions are to be handled by the Curriculum Committee, whereas major decisions are to be referred to the University Council.

It was the consensus of the group that any change in the total number of hours in general education (52 hours) is a major change and the University Council should be consulted. It was also the consensus of the group that any change within the 52 hours is also a major change and should be brought before the Council.

Joint Committee on Board By-Laws and Policies

The Chairman read a letter from a committee at Northern Illinois University requesting a meeting for the purpose of discussing the formation of a permanent joint committee on Board By-Laws and Policies. After some discussion Mr. Moore moved that the representatives from the other faculties be invited to meet with our representatives for the purpose of discussing the formation of such a group. The motion was seconded by Mr. Keeley and was passed.

Office of Admissions, Records and Registrar

President Bone commented that the structure of this area was being studied and he would present a full report at a later meeting.

Head, Physical Science Department

President Bone reported that Mr. Gooding was resigning as head of the Physical Science Department, and a committee would have to be established for the selection of a head of that department.

The Executive Committee of the Council nominated Mr. Hancock, Mr. Keeley and Mr. Yedor as the representative from the Council. Mr. Moore was nominated from the floor. Mr. Moore was elected on the fifth ballot.

The Executive Committee nominated Miss Fensholt, Miss Rhymer and Mr. Watterson as the representative from off the Council. Miss Fensholt was elected on the fifth ballot.

The meeting adjourned at 11:15 P.M.

Victor Gimmestad, Chairman
Andreas Paloumpis, Secretary