Illinois State University

ISU ReD: Research and eData

Academic Senate Minutes

Academic Senate

Winter 2-16-1966

University Council Meeting, February 16, 1966

Academic Senate Illinois State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes



Part of the Higher Education Administration Commons

Recommended Citation

Senate, Academic, "University Council Meeting, February 16, 1966" (1966). Academic Senate Minutes. 1249.

https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/senateminutes/1249

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Academic Senate at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in Academic Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL (Not approved by the Council)

DATE: February 16, 1966

Members Present
Ferman Bishop R
Claude Dillinger E
Arley Gillett D
Warren Harden J
Eric Johnson C
Kenneth Ledbetter
Lewis Legg

Ralph Smith Eunice Speer David Sweet John Trotter Charles White Members Absent Robert Bone Don Prince Visitors
Thomas Edwards
Frederick Fuess
Richard Litherland
Stanley Marzolf
George McCoy
Helen Nance
Ernest Olson
Harold Phelps

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Stanley Shuman

After the meeting was called to order, Mr. Sweet requested that the minutes of January 19, 1966 be amended to record his vote on the motion to create a Department of Secondary Education as "abstained." Mr. Ledbetter requested that the motion creating a philosophy department be amended to include the phrase "to be created by the fall of 1967."

Mr. Gillett moved that the minutes be approved as amended. Mr. Legg seconded the motion, which passed without dissent.

PLACEMENT OF DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY:

After considerable discussion, Mr. Sweet moved that the motion of the meeting of January 19, 1966 concerning the placement of the Department of Psychology be removed from the table. Mr. White seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Mr. Ledbetter moved that the Department of Psychology be placed in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The motion was seconded by Mr. Smith and was carried by the following roll call vote:

Yes
Ferman Bishop
Claude Dillinger
Arley Gillett
Warren Harden
Eric Johnson
Kenneth Ledbetter
Stanley Shuman
Ralph Smith
Eunice Speer
David Sweet
John Trotter
Charles White

No Lewis Legg

POLICY ON VISITING SPEAKERS:

After some discussion, Mr. Sweet moved the adoption of the following policy on visiting speakers and lecturers. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Proposed Policy on Visiting Speakers and Lecturers

- I. University Policy Regarding Visiting Speakers and Lecturers
 - A. Illinois State University is a community of faculty and students dedicated to the discovery of truth. Freedom of inquiry both in the classroom and in all other aspects of University life is essential to the search for truth, and therefore, is a major tenet of the University's educational philosophy. Visiting speakers and lecturers provide significant opportunities for members of the University community to explore divergent views and opinions, and the appearance of visiting speakers and lecturers is encouraged by the University.
 - B. Since the University does encourage the expression of diverse views and opinions, it is equally clear that the presentation of a particular view or opinion by a visiting speaker on the campus does not imply University endorsement of that view.

II. Scheduling of Visiting Speakers

- A. Within the educational philosophy of the visiting speakers' policy, academic departments and other University groups, student organizations and non-University groups will be held responsible for those visiting speakers and lecturers whom they choose to invite to the University.
- B. In order to properly schedule the event to insure the necessary publicity and to assure proper procedure, groups wishing to invite visiting speakers or lecturers to the University will submit a quadruplicate "Visiting Speaker Form" to the appropriate administrative office ten days in advance of the speaker's appearance.

(NOTE: In emergency situations forms should be accepted on shorter notice.)

- C. Academic departments and other University groups will submit the form to the Dean of the Faculty (or his designated representative). Student organizations will submit the form to the Dean of Students (or his designated representative). Non-University groups will submit the form to the VicePresident for Administrative Affairs (or his designated representative).
- D. To aid in attracting the widest possible audience for visiting speakers and lecturers the University administrator will forward one copy of the form to the University Publicity Office and one copy to the University Calendar Office. The fourth copy will be returned to the group originating the request.

REPORT OF ELECTIONS COMMITTEE:

Mr. Gillett reported that there were 331 ballots cast at the election held to nominate candidates for the Council, 60 more than in the last such election. Petitions for other nominations will be entertained until noon, February 21, 1966.

They must be signed by at least 74 faculty members. After the report, the chair noted that Mr. Gillett is concluding six years on the Council and offered the commendation of the Council for his good service.

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL STUDENT AWARDS:

Mr. Shuman moved that the three-man committee for judging the contributions of students for the University Council Awards be composed of persons not on the Council. Mr. Sweet seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. An election for the members of the committee was held, and the following were named: John Ferrell, Helen Nance and Conrad Suits.

JOINT FACULTY POLICY COMMITTEE:

Mr. Sweet moved that Miss Ebel not be replaced on the Joint Faculty Policy Committee, even though she is on leave. Mr. Ledbetter seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Mr. Ledbetter moved that the Council go into Executive Session after the regular meeting. Mr. Sweet seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

UNIVERSITY CALENDAR:

Mr. Dillinger requested that the approval of the University Calendar at the January 19, 1966 meeting be noted and that a copy of the calendar be circulated with the minutes.

VIDETTE:

The Council received a letter from Mr. Beauchamp, sponsor of The Vidette, requesting the right to cover Council activities. The Council felt that direct coverage would not be desirable and requested the chair to communicate this fact to Mr. Beauchamp.

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Dillinger moved that the Council adjourn. Mr. Shuman seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Warren Harden, Chairman

Ferman Bishop, Secretary