Illinois State University

ISU ReD: Research and eData

School of Music Programs

Music

10-10-2021

Afternoon of Brass, October 10, 2021

Illinois State University School of Music

Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/somp

Part of the Music Performance Commons

Recommended Citation

Illinois State University School of Music, "Afternoon of Brass, October 10, 2021" (2021). *School of Music Programs*. 4504. https://ir.library.illinoisstate.edu/somp/4504

This Performance Program is brought to you for free and open access by the Music at ISU ReD: Research and eData. It has been accepted for inclusion in School of Music Programs by an authorized administrator of ISU ReD: Research and eData. For more information, please contact ISUReD@ilstu.edu.

ISU Horn Choir Directed by Dr. Rachel Hockenberry

Long I Stood

James Naigus (born 1986)

Daniel Castillon, conductor

May the Road Rise

Madeline Lee (born 1994)

Big Sky Country

Daniel Baldwin (born 1978)

Jimmy Spencer, conductor

Ally Miller, conductor

Sparrows in Bell Towers

Emma Gregan (born 1993) Illinois State University Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts School of Music

Afternoon of Brass

Horns:

Ryn Bradison, Ryan Burns, Daniel Castillon, Lydia Cermak, Kizzie Cobden, Alicia Cruz, Franklin Daviau, Cassidy Fairchild, Peter Gao, Allison Hoffman, Ally Miller, Nate Parson, Joanna Sieczka, Jimmy Spencer, Nicholas Steffenhagen, Matt Tutterow, Cory Tyler, Scott Whitman

> Center for the Performing Arts October 10, 2021 Sunday Afternoon 3:00 p.m.

This is the fourteenth program of the 2021-2022 season.

Program

Please silence all electronics for the duration of the concert. Thank you.

ISU Tuba and Euphonium Ensemble Directed by Dr. Andy Rummel

Espérer

Wan-Yun Liang (born 1976)

Lux Aurumque

Eric Whitacre (born 1970) Arr. Patrick Geren

Arêtê

Glenn Martin (born 1946)

Terry Everson

(born 1962)

Euphonium: Kaitlyn Bauman, Dyllan Bowering, Phil Denzmore, Kahlar Drews, Dylan Gray, Colin Norsworthy, Jack O'Mahoney, Joe Rykherd, Sara Zittler

Tuba: David Basich, JT Butcher, Katie Dobbeck, Jack Giroux, Angel Lopez, Miki McCarthy, Brady Parks, Ryan White, Jim Wellwood

> **ISU Trumpet Ensemble** Directed by Dr. Anne McNamara

Exultate Jubilate by Alessandro Scarlatti (1659-1725) arr. Jason Dovel

Idea Number Twenty Four

Introduction Theme

Variation I. Variation II.

Variation III.

Variation IV.

Variation V.

Ruslan and Ludmila: Overture

Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka (1804-1857) arr. Erik Morales (born 1966)

Trumpets:

Jeri Blade, Lauren Cancio, Austin Caraher, Jackson Crater, Matthew Fischer, Katherine Freimuth, Chloe Horn, Karsten Jeppesen, Joseph Johnson, Milo Johnson, Alice Kabira, Maisy King, Seth Marshall, Christian McLaughlin, Robert Ranz, Kevin Riedl, Camrin Severino, Katherine Shindledecker, Caleb Strohbeck, Ryan Valdivia, Michael Zahour

ISU Trombone Choir

Directed by Dr. Mark Babbitt

Emma Catherine (2004)

blue dream of sky (2015)

Lockstep (2014)

Omar Thomas (born 1984)

David Biendenbender (born 1984)

> Andrew Hannon (born 1977)

Trombones:

Sophia Brattoli, Joseph Buczko, Valeska Carrillo, Katie Cornet, Lucas Dahmm, Jem Frost, Angel Garay, Peyton Gray, Brett Harris, Matthew Helferich, Eric Johnson, Noah Lampel, Ethan Machamer, Nathan Nigus, Tori Puffer, Emily Rausch, Cole Richey, Julian Rodriguez, Nick Sisson, Andrew Slayter, Daniel Streib, Colton Thies